How to Apply for Classification

British Swimming

Click on the link

It is not as complicated as it looks!

Please speak to a Committee Member.

British Swimming








Disability Swimming Classification Eligibility Guidelines
(S1 – S14)

Classification groups S1-S14 are for those swimmers with a physical, visual or intellectual impairment.

Classification Groups S1 – S10 Swimmers with a physical disability The following disabilities meet the eligibility requirements of the functional classification system*:

Achondroplasia (dwarfism) Amputees (including dysmelia) Arthrogryposis Brittle bones

Cerebral Palsy Legge-Perthes

Multiple Sclerosis Muscular Dystrophy Polio
Spina Bifida

Spinal Cord injury

* Please note that this list is not exhaustive, however provides a guide to functional classification eligibility

Classification Groups S11 – S13 Swimmers with a visual impairment The range is from blind to visually impaired (best eye with best correction)

Classification Group S14 Swimmers with an intellectual impairment There are three eligibility criteria which must be met:

  1. An full scale IQ score of 75 or below
  2. Evidence of significant limitations in adaptive behaviour
  3. Evidence of age of onset before the age of 18

There are a number of conditions that do not meet the eligibility criteria as follows*:

Arthritis Aspergers Asthma
Autistic spectrum Cystic Fibrosis Diabetes Dyspraxia

Ehlers’ Danlos Syndrome Epilepsy
Haemophilia Hydrocephalus
Learning Difficulties Scoliosis Transplants

* Please note that this list is not exhaustive, however provides a guide

It must be noted that even swimmers that have a diagnosis that meets the eligibility criteria for classification may still not be sufficiently impaired to gain a classification.

SharksLogo Copyright 2018 The Sharks Swimming Disability Club